Amsterdam city districts

The city of Amsterdam consists of seven city districts (stadsdelen): Centre, Nieuw-West, Noord, Oost, West, Zuid and Zuidoost.

Amsterdam city districts 

Amsterdam’s seven districts (not to be confused with buurtenneighbourhoods in Amsterdam) are Amsterdam Centre, West, Oost, Noord, Zuid, Nieuw-West and Zuidoost. Which district you live in will determine which City Office (stadsloket) you need to visit for official procedures such as registration and permits. Districts also organise refuse collection and much more.  

Visit for municipal information about the City of Amsterdam

Learn more about Amsterdam's seven city districts on the City of Amsterdam's official website for municipal content. The website also offers information about the City Offices in each city district, as well as information about waste and recycling in various districts and neighbourhoods.


Life in the Amsterdam Area

Amsterdam, Amstelveen & Diemen

A close connection to central Amsterdam. These cities enjoy a prime location at the centre of the Amsterdam Area.

Almere & Lelystad

Almere waterfront
Experience modern living and opportunities to build new homes.

Haarlem & Heemstede

Embrace history and culture in Haarlem's beautiful city centre.

Haarlemmermeer, Aalsmeer & Uithoorn

Harlemmermeer flower fields
Have the world on your doorstep with Haarlemmermeer's excellent transport connections.

Hilversum, the Gooi & Vechtstreek

One of the greenest parts of the Amsterdam Area that's filled with possibilities.

Alkmaar, Bergen & Hoorn

Alkmaar terrace
Discover authentic villages with coastal, rural and lakeside surroundings.

IJmond, Zandvoort and Castricum

Relaxed living and an active lifestyle around the coastline.

Zaanstreek & Waterland

Amsterdam Beemster polder windmill
Living alongside the cultural and industrial heritage of the region's harbours.