Discover, experience and get to know the rich history of Weesp. Situated in the beautiful town hall built in 1776, the museum tells the story of the city and its inhabitants. Learn about the famous Weesper porcelain, the tasty history of the Van Houten chocolate makers and the rich past of the beer brewers and jenever distillers.
The history of the museum
Museum Weesp started as an Oudheidskamer in December 1911. At that time, the usher of the town hall received an allowance for the maintenance of the space that had been furnished as the Oudheidskamer.
In this room, objects related to the history of Weesp were displayed, such as the city silver, paintings and engravings. The first acquisition for the collection was made in 1928: a tureen with lemons on the lid. Gradually, the Antiquity Chamber has grown into a fascinating collection through various donations and purchases.
The museum today
In January 1974, the Municipal Council of Weesp instituted the Museum Commission ordinance to manage the collection on behalf of the council. Due to a sizeable donation of Weesper porcelain from the property of Baron F. van Heeckeren van Waliën, a descendant of porcelain manufacturer Graaf Van Gronsveld, the Municipal Council of Weesp instituted the Museum Commission ordinance to manage the collection. This donation was in fact the beginning of Museum Weesp.
Since 1999 it is a registered museum, affiliated with the Dutch Museum Association. It is located on the second floor of the city hall in Weesp, which was designed by Jacob Otten Husly and was built between 1772 and 1776.
See how Museum Weesp makes visits accessible for people with disabilities.More information