IN Amsterdam

IN Amsterdam provides a one-stop-shop service for international newcomers in the Amsterdam Area.

Updated 22 May 17:30

IN Amsterdam is open for appointments only

The IN Amsterdam office is currently only open on the following days for appointments:

  • Monday, 25 May
  • Tuesday, 26 May
  • Tuesday, 2 June
  • Wednesday, 3 June
  • Thursday, 4 June
  • Tuesday, 9 June
  • Wednesday, 10 June
  • Tuesday, 16 June
  • Wednesday, 17 June
  • Tuesday, 23 June
  • Wednesday, 24 June
  • Tuesday, 30 June
  • Wednesday, 1 July
  • Tuesday, 7 July
  • Wednesday, 8 July
  • Tuesday, 14 July
  • Wednesday, 15 July
  • Tuesday, 21 July
  • Wednesday, 22 July
  • Tuesday, 28 July
  • Wednesday, 29 July

Please note: We are continuously evaluating the situation and new updates will be published here.

How can you reach us?

Email correspondence preferred

Our phone lines have been forwarded to the mobile phones of staff members who are working from home. This temporarily affects our availability. Calls are answered from 09:00-12:00 and 13:00-17:00 (not between 12:00 and 13:00). Please send us an email, rather than a leaving a voicemail, if you’d like us to return your call. Thank you for your patience.

The ACCESS Helpdesk at IN Amsterdam will be closed for in-person consultations. ACCESS can be reached via email or visit the ACCESS webpage.

Birth and marriage certificates

If you are required to present a birth or marriage certificate, you can schedule an appointment to do so when we resume our usual services. You will not receive a fine if the obligatory time period passes before then. To register a child's birth certificate, call us on +31 (0)20 254 7999.

Online appointment tool

Our online appointment tool (for intermediaries) is out of service for the months of April, May and June. Appointments can only be made by phone or email. 

Services provided by the IND

As of Tuesday, 17 March we are no longer be able to provide services from the IND. This includes issuing any new residence permits.

The IND is only issuing residence permits in the case of special emergencies. In such an emergency, you can collect your permit from the IND desk at Pieter Calandlaan 1 by calling 088-0430430 to arrange an appointment. Without an appointment, you cannot enter the building at this time. Learn more about the services the IND is offering and other frequently asked questions.

Additional information about the coronavirus (COVID-19) for international residents and companies

For the latest information from local and national government please see:


Learn how IN Amsterdam can help you

We serve companies and their highly skilled migrant employees, scientific researchers, international entrepreneurs and international graduates, simplifying immigration processes and helping international newcomers settle into the Amsterdam Area. The IN Amsterdam procedure includes immigration elements such as:

Are you an international newcomer, employer, or are you interested in becoming a partner? Choose a topic below:

Sign up for our newsletter

Coronavirus information

Popular pages

IN Amsterdam news: Dutch immigration policy and HR updates

Latest news