Fees for EU/EEA, Swiss and Surinamese nationals

Statutory tuition fees apply to you if you are a EU/EEA region, Swiss or Surinamese national who is undertaking their first degree in the Netherlands. This means that you pay the same amount as Dutch students for your tuition. These statutory tuition fees are determined by the Dutch government on a yearly basis.

The statutory tuition fee for a full-time student for the academic year 2019-2020 is €2,087, but some universities offer a lower yearly rate for part-time students. Also, fees can be higher for some courses, particularly in private universities, so it is helpful to take a look at your university of choice’s course page.

Institutional tuition fees

If you are not an EU/EEA, Swiss or Surinamese national, or if you are enrolling in your second Dutch Bachelor or Master’s degree, then you are obligated to pay an institutional tuition fee; these fees are not paid for by government subsidies. You can expect to pay around €10,000 for the 2019-2020 academic year, but the fee can vary quite a bit across different courses, so it is definitely worth checking your prospective university’s website.