Lyric Symphony

Zemlinsky's Lyric Symphony is regarded as his answer to Mahler's Das Lied von der Erde and uses a collection of love poems by the Bengali poet Rabindranath Tagore. The work not only describes love in a romantic sense, but also how it fits in with our human nature, and influences our personalities and decision-making. Schubert's Viola (D.786) also matches that theme, where a love story is told through the eyes of one flower: the bloom of spring is compared to the festive morning of a wedding.

Among Zemlinsky's closest friends and colleagues was composer Alban Berg. His Sonata is a good example of Zemlinsky's musical influence: classical forms and traditions are preserved, while a romantic version of modern harmony shines brightly.

The three versions of these works, performed by the Zemlinsky Chamber Orchestra, bridge the gap between symphonic powers and chamber music, creating a powerful yet intimate experience of some of the greatest masterpieces of the 19th and 20th centuries. With Alexander von Zemlinsky as its symbol, the ZCO focuses on extraordinary, but lesser-known and underappreciated music and how it fits into society. The Zemlinsky Chamber Orchestra is an ensemble made up of young professional musicians from all over the world, a mishmash ranging from soloists to chamber musicians to orchestra players.


Katherine Weber, soprano

Rolfe Dauz, baritone

Fergus McAlpine, conductor

Zemlinsky Chamber Orchestra


Alban Berg (1885-1935): Piano Sonata, Op. 1 (arr. R. Dunser)

Franz Schubert (1797-1828): Viola, D. 786 (arr. F. McAlpine

Alexander von Zemlinsky (1871-1942): Lyrical Symphony (arr. F. McAlpine)