After a season of sold-out and exciting Weekly Sessionz, we are ready for the 9th Shortcutz Amsterdam Annual Awards, where we celebrate the best of Dutch short films talent. All films screened at the Sessionz can be nominated for any of the nine Mr Zee categories.

To honour our late ambassador, board and jury member Rutger Hauer, we also give the Rutger Hauer Award to a person or institution who has impacted the next generation of Dutch filmmakers.

Every year, extraordinary guests join us and deliver an inspiring speech. This way, everyone wins something at the ceremony, at the very least some inspiration. Previous guests include Béla Tarr, Peter Greenaway, Heddy Honigmann, Hany Abu-Assad, among many others. Stanley Kubrick’s executive producer Jan Harlan (The Shining, Full Metal Jacket, Eyes Wide Shut) is one of the names confirmed for the event. More guests will be announced soon.

See you on the 23rd of January 2022, at EYE Filmmuseum… and after the ceremony, we will dance.