The original warehouse was built in 1934 and should have been demolished when the Eastern Docklands area underwent a major renovation. A bridge was meant to be built where the warehouse stands, but thanks to a petition the warehouse was declared a national monument. The final solution was a unique one – to build the bridge right through the middle of the building!
Pakhuis De Zwijger houses a café, multiple halls and meeting rooms, radio and television studios, and multimedia workshops. Located on the Piet Heinkade above the Jan Schaeffer bridge, the warehouse also holds the offices of several cultural organisations. In addition to an auditorium that can seat up to 600 people, the building also features three smaller meeting rooms and an exhibition space.
Pakhuis de Zwijger is closed for the summer starting July 16 until August 28.