metropolitan area

Explore the Amsterdam Metropolitan Area to discover windmills, beaches, riverside estates and national parks. The Amsterdam Area is also a thriving business hub. It is comprised of four different municipalities: Amsterdam, Almere, Amstelveen and Haarlemmermeer (including Amsterdam Airport Schiphol). Each offers its own distinctive advantages and charm for those living, working and doing business in the city.

UNESCO World Heritage List

In August 2010, Amsterdam’s 17th-century Canal Ring was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List, raising the total number of listed sites in the Nethe...


You won’t see many people wearing clogs in Amsterdam, but they are still an important part of Dutch culture.