Amsterdam city districts 

Amsterdam's seven districts (not to be confused with buurtenneighbourhoods in Amsterdam) are Amsterdam Centre, West, Oost, Noord, Zuid, Nieuw-West and Zuidoost. Which district you live in will determine to which City Office you need to go for official matters such as registration and permits. Districts also organise refuse collection and much more.