City Card shopping basket

Amsterdam Metropolitan Area

The Amsterdam Metropolitan Area (AMA) is comprised of several surrounding municipalities, including the cities of Amsterdam, Almere, Amstelveen, Diemen, Haarlem, Haarlemmermeer, Hilversum and Velsen.

Welcome to the Amsterdam Metropolitan Area!

The Amsterdam Metropolitan Area (AMA) lies to the north of the Randstad and encompasses the city of Amsterdam and the Dutch provinces of North Holland and Flevoland. The area has a total population of over 2 million inhabitants.

The Expatcenter is a joint initiative of the cities of Amsterdam, Amstelveen, Almere, Diemen, Haarlem, Haarlemmermeer, Hilversum and Velsen.

Amsterdam Metropolitan Area


Hilversum is a city filled with possibilities, whether you live there, work there, or if you’re just visiting. It is a lively community of 86,000 inha...


With a population of more than 140,000, Haarlemmermeer ranks among the twenty largest municipalities in the Netherlands. Twenty-six villages are dotte...


Amstelveen, just outside of Amsterdam, is a town in which it's a joy to live and work. And it has a decidedly international outlook, reflected by the ...


From the moment of its establishment in 1976, Almere has been one of the fastest growing cities in Europe. Since its initial development as a suburban...


The City of Velsen consists of seven boroughs and is home to approximately 67,000 people. It’s a region of impressive contrasts, where you can live in...

Day trips from Amsterdam

To truly experience Amsterdam be sure to head out beyond the borders of the city centre and explore the Amsterdam Area. In less than 30 minutes, you’l...